The Institute for Chemical Research (IIQ) was created with the nature and character of a Joint Center by the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) and the University of Seville, which subscribed the corresponding Collaboration Agreement on 12 December 1995. The CSIC’s Governing Board ratified the agreement at its meeting on January 23, 1996. The Institute for Chemical Research along with the Institute for Materials Research of Seville and the Institute for Plant Biochemistry and Photosynthesis currently form the “Isla de la Cartuja” Scientific Research Center.

The Institute is administratively composed of two departments:

• Department of Organometallic Chemistry and Homogeneous Catalysis
• Department of Bioorganic Chemistry
Both departments share the scientific instrumentation, the Institute's services and the general objectives, which according to the agreement reflected in the creation include:

• Contribute to the development of chemical research, the advancement of knowledge and technological progress and industrial development.
• Encourage and support research activities in close connection with training tasks at the University of Seville.
• Promote and facilitate research in the fields of Organic Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Carbohydrate Chemistry, Organometallic Chemistry, Biochemistry, Enzymology, peptides, proteins and chemical synthesis.
• Provide young graduates a way to access to scientific careers
• Promote relations with other research institutes in Spain and abroad and collaborations in related fields.
• Encourage international scientific relations and exchange of information

 According to the IIQ’ s Strategic Plan for 2010-2013, research projects that are developed in the Institute for Chemical Research are grouped into two major research lines:

• Organometallic Chemistry: Fundamental Studies, Process Catalysts and other applications.
• Organic Chemistry and Biology.

Currently, the Institute has the following management:
Director: Dr. Noureddine Khiar el Wahabi
Deputy Director: Dr. Antonio Rodríquez Delgado